Posted by: Bret Simmons | March 6, 2010

It’s Just Good Business

In addition to being highly recommended keynote speakers, both David Nour and Scott Klososky understand that relationships are the foundation of good business. We inquired about almost twenty different speakers when we were vetting keynotes for SM@RT 2010, and only David Nour and Scott Klososky made the effort to speak to us personally over the phone.

We first contacted David via e-mail, and he made himself available the next day to speak to us on the phone. He listened to understand our needs and then described how he could help us with a value chain of activities (e.g. webinar, blogs) that would extend beyond the hour he spends delivering his keynote speech. He blew us away.

Relationships connected us with Scott. When I told a friend of mine here in Reno about looking for a keynote for SM@RT 2010, he picked up the phone and called a friend of his, Howard Putnam. Howard then picked up the phone and called a friend of his, Scott Klososky to see if Scott would be interested in our conference. My friend then gave me Howard’s number, and when I spoke to Howard, he gave me Scott’s direct number. The next day Scott and I spoke and our second keynote was decided.

I must confess that I had never heard of either David or Scott before I vetted them. David was recommended by the brother of a colleague of mine that had heard him speak. When I saw the subject matter of David’s book, “Relationship Economics,” I knew he would be perfect for SM@RT 2010. I checked Scott out with several agents I was working with and all had high praise for him. Scott made this list of 10 top social media speakers.

I’ve vetted several folks for breakout presenter opportunities that would not take the time to speak to me on the phone. David and Scott had already set the standard, so I knew I could do better and quickly marked folks like that off my list and moved on. Joe Pulizzi, Lida Citroen, and Jennifer McClure all impressed me with their accessibility.

In your pursuit of being “social” in social media, don’t ever forget that business still comes down to a personal connection that usually involves the sound of a voice in a live conversation. When you step into social media, you send a signal to everyone else in that space that you understand how the game works and you are ready to play. Take your familiar unprofessional tactics into social media and you will marginalize your effectiveness.

The meeting spaces may have gone high tech, but good business is still just good business.

Responses

  1. Bret – my pleasure. Looking forward to a great event in December.
    Thank you for your kind comments.
    David

    • Welcome, David! I am committed to making our conference a huge success, and I know you are too. Thanks! Bret

  2. […] Read more Tag Your Favorites […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

